Role of the Parish Council

The Parish Council is a locally elected body in the first tier of local government. It can take actions, deliver certain services and carry out certain functions to meet local needs, due to statutory powers conferred on Parish Councils. For example, it can provide and maintain bus shelters and street furniture, provide burial grounds and own and manage community buildings such as our the Parish Hall.  Importantly,  it can also canvas and act as a voice for the local community to influence other decision makers, such as Cheshire East Council. It is also given the opportunity to consider and comment on all local Planning applications.

In addition, Nether Alderley has adopted Power of Competence, because it has a qualified Parish Clerk, and at least two thirds of its councillors have been elected rather than co-opted. This power significantly widens the services it can provide.  

Our eight Parish Councillors represent the interests of the local community and the Parish Council looks to improve and care for the local area and people. The Parish Council is also included in Cheshire East consultations on their strategic aims and it liaises with them in connection with matters such as Highways, traffic, community safety, litter and Rights of Way.

In asset terms, Nether Alderley Parish Council owns and maintains five bus shelters,  owns and manages a Burial Ground for the local community and  owns and operates its Grade 11* listed Parish Hall.

It has three notice boards, situated at the entrance to Orchard Crescent, in Alderley Park near the Churchill Tree and in the turning circle of the Parish Hall/St. Mary’s Church, which display Parish Council and public information.

A full list of the Parish Council’s assets can be viewed in its Assets Register, a copy of which can be obtained from the Clerk.

The Parish Council also has ongoing communication with the Cheshire Neighbourhood Policing team.

The Parish Council is also very well supported by its Cheshire East Councillor, Cllr. Anthony Harrison who usually attends Parish Council meetings.

Nether Alderley Parish Council has adopted Financial Regulations and Procedural Standing Orders and these and other policies can be found on this website. Further information can be found by following the Freedom of Information Act/Model Publication Scheme link on the Home page of this website. 

Nether Alderley Parish Council is served by 8 Councillors who have a strong commitment to serving the Parish and its local residents.

Parish Councillors are usually elected into office, the most recent elections having taken place in May 2023. Councillors may be co-opted where vacancies are not filled at election. For further information regarding the role of Parish Councillors, please refer to the publication ‘The Good Councillor’s Guide’ here.

Nether Alderley Parish Councillors

  • Cllr. Angela Farrell (Chair)
  • Cllr. Lesley Geave (Vice Chair)
  • Cllr. Melanie Connor 
  • Cllr. Susan Joseph
  • Cllr. Mandy Kirk 
  • Cllr. Geoff Linnell
  • Cllr. Ruth Morgan
  • Cllr. Marcus Raphael


Membership of Committees is approved at the Parish Council AGM in May each year.

Occasional vacancies on committees (should a Parish Councillor step down from Office) are filled at meetings through the year.

Burial Board

The Burial Board is responsible for the management of and regulations relating to Nether Alderley Burial Ground. The Burial Ground is situated adjacent to and at the back of St. Mary’s Churchyard, in Nether Alderley. Burial Board matters may be considered within Parish Council meetings. The Burial Board also meets, when necessary, to consider Burial Ground matters and to inspect the Burial Ground. The Clerk to the Parish Council currently acts as Clerk to the Burial Board. Regulations relating to the Burial Ground can be found at the end of the Parish website Homepage. Meetings of the Burial Board are advertised in the same way as Parish Council meetings and take place at Nether Alderley Parish Hall.

  • Cllr. Angela Farrell (Chair)
  • Cllr. Melanie Connor
  • Cllr, Ruth Morgan  
  • Jacqueline Wilkinson

Village Hall Management Committee

(Parish Council Members)

  • Cllr. Angela Farrell (Chair)
  • Cllr. Lesley Gleave
  • Cllr. Susan Joseph
  • Cllr. Mandy Kirk
  • Cllr Marcus Raphael
  • David Fairbotham
  • Other members from the local community will also be invited to join  

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is appointed to consider planning applications that require a response between full meetings of the Parish Council. Meetings are advertised in the same way as Parish Council meetings and take place at Nether Alderley Parish Hall.

  • Cllr. Lesley Gleave (Chair)
  • Cllr Angela Farrell
  • Cllr. Sue Joseph 
  • Cllr. Mandy Kirk 
  • Cllr. Geoff Linnell 
  • Cllr. Marcus Raphael

 Representative to Alderley Park Liaison Committee

  • Cllr. Geoff Linnell

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy. View Privacy Notice